Arizona Public Radio | Your Source for NPR News
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Latest northern Arizona fire restrictions for summer 2024

Tom Dreisbach

Local, county, state and federal agencies have implemented fire restrictions throughout northern Arizona as hot and dry conditions increase.

Fire restrictions are intended to help prevent human-caused fires and to limit the exposure of visitors during periods of potentially dangerous conditions. They will typically remain in effect until the area receives significant, widespread precipitation. Violators could face fines or jail time.

Rules on things like campfires, smoking and welding can differ from one forest to another. It's critical to check what's allowed where.

There are three levels of fire restrictions. Stage 1 Fire Restrictions typically limit campfires to developed recreation areas. Stage 2 usually bans all fires while Stage 3 can include closing an area to public access.

Where are Stage 1 Fire Restrictions in effect?

Agencies can tailor restrictions to fit specific needs. Generally, under Stage 1 Fire Restrictions:

  • Wood and charcoal fires are allowed only in developed campgrounds and picnic areas.
  • Smoking is permitted only indoors, in a vehicle or developed recreation site.
  • Stoves, lanterns and devices that run on liquid petroleum or liquid petroleum gas can be used if they can be turned on and off and are operated in areas where flammable materials are cleared within a 3-foot range.
  • Rules on discharging a firearm, air rifle and gas gun can vary.

The Tonto and Prescott national forests are all in Stage 1 as well as Yavapai, Coconino, Gila and Navajo counties. Same with the Bureau of Land Management and State Trust lands in Gila, Mohave and Yavapai counties.

Welding and using acetylene torches and other open-flame devices are also prohibited.

Other agencies will likely follow suit in the coming days as much of the region is forecasted to face near-record high temperatures.

Stage 2 Restrictions

Stage 2 fire restrictions generally ban all campfires. Here's what else is typically prohibited:

  • Igniting, building, maintaining or using a fire, including charcoal, briquettes, smudge pots and wood stoves.
  • Smoking outside.
  • Blasting, welding or operating an acetylene or other torch with an open flame.

Agencies can adjust restrictions to fit their needs, so check their website or social media for specifics.
The City of Flagstaff, Coconino County and the Coconino National Forest moved to Stage 2 restrictions on June 21. Officials also closed some forest roads to motorized vehicles.

The Apache-Sitgreaves National Forest did the same.

In addition, Grand Canyon National Park and the Kaibab National Forest increased restrictions, along with the Bill Williams Mountain watershed.

Navajo and Apache counties, Show Low, the Town of Pinetop Lakeside and Fort Apache also upped restrictions. As have state trust lands in Apache and Navajo counties and Coconino County lands south of the Grand Canyon.

Violations could result in a mandatory federal court appearance, fines and jail time. Restrictions and closures typically remain in effect until the area receives significant, widespread precipitation.

Stage 3 Fire Restrictions

Under Stage 3 fire restrictions, the area is closed to the public due to extreme fire danger.\

No areas are currently under Stage 3 restrictions.

This is a developing list and was last updated on June 21, 2024. Additional information will be added as it becomes available.