Arizona Public Radio | Your Source for NPR News
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

New Law Mandates Prescott Retain 1st Legislative District

Yavapai County Courts

A new law will ensure that Prescott retains the 1st Legislative District regardless of how Arizona's 30 districts are redrawn every 10 years.

The law backed by Prescott Republican Senate President Karen Fann mandates the 1st District designation remains with Prescott. It specifies that if the city if split between two districts, the one with the largest percentage of the city's population gets the moniker. Gov. Doug Ducey signed Fann's bill Monday.

Prescott residents take pride in the fact that the city became the state's first territorial capital in 1864. It moved to Tucson from 1867-1877, then moved back to Prescott until Phoenix became the permanent capitol in 1889.

Republicans seeking statewide office traditionally end their campaigns at the Yavapai County Courthouse in Prescott.

Related Content